DOMÄNE BAUMGARTNER

Tradition – Family
Since 1725

The viticultural history of the Baumgartner domain can be traced back to the year 1725. For 300 years now, the family has taken the right steps to accept the challenges of the times and master them. Knowledge and experience have been passed on from generation to generation.

Work of generations

Despite the centuries-old tradition - when Wolfgang Baumgartner joined the company in 1968, nothing indicated that less than 50 years later the Domäne Baumgartner would be the largest winery in Austria. At that time, the Baumgartners had just 3 hectares of vineyards.

Wolfgang expanded the winery to include wine trading and larger grape processing.

He was one of the first in Austria to use large, modern tanks in the wine cellar. Wolfgang Baumgartner quickly realized that the production of high-quality wines in larger quantities was only possible by combining grape processing in his own winery with the simultaneous expansion of his own cultivated areas. When Wieland started working in the winery in 1987, Wolfgang found in his son the ideal partner for this venture.

After graduating from the federal college for viticulture and pomology in Klosterneuburg Wieland Baumgartner's daughter Katharina joined the family business in 2017. Wieland's son Lorenz will also actively support the winery after his graduation.

To ensure that the wines can be preserved for future generations, wines with good ageing potential have already been placed in the cellar for decades.

In the meantime, around 150,000 bottles of Baumgartner wine "live" in the vinotheque 30 meters below ground, with perfect storage conditions of constant 8°C and a humidity level of 80%.

This excellent microclimate ensures that the wines retain their varietal fruit aromas and noble ripening notes can develop.

Wolfgang
Baumgartner
born 1943

Wieland
Baumgartner
born 1968

Baumgartner_Logo_trans_x2

Katharina
Baumgartner
born 1998

Lorenz
Baumgartner
born 2002

DOMÄNE BAUMGARTNER

Tradition Familie
SEIT 1725

Die Weinbaugeschichte der Domäne Baumgartner lässt sich bis ins Jahr 1725 zurückverfolgen. Seit nunmehr 300 Jahren hat die Familie die richtigen Schritte gesetzt, um die Herausforderungen der jeweiligen Zeit anzunehmen und mit Bravour zu meistern. Das Wissen und die Erfahrungen wurden von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben.

Werk der Generationen

Trotz der jahrhundertealten Tradition wies bei Wolfgang Baumgartners Einstieg in den Betrieb 1968 nichts darauf hin, dass das Weingut Baumgartner weniger als 50 Jahre später das größte Weingut Österreichs sein würde. Damals verfügten die Baumgartners über gerade einmal 3 Hektar Rebfläche.

Wolfgang erweitert das Weingut um den
Weinhandel und die größere
Traubenverarbeitung.

Als einer der ersten in Österreich setzte er im Weinkeller auf große, moderne Tanks. Schnell erkannte Wolfgang Baumgartner, dass die Erzeugung von qualitativ hochwertigen Weinen in größeren Mengen nur durch die Kombination von Traubenverarbeitung im eigenen Betrieb und die gleichzeitige Ausweitung der eigenen Anbauflächen möglich ist. Als Wieland 1987 im Weingut anfängt, findet Wolfgang in seinem Sohn den idealen Partner für dieses Vorhaben.

Nach der Matura an der Höheren Bundeslehranstalt für Wein- und Obstbau in Klosterneuburg, schloss sich Wieland Baumgartners Tochter Katharina 2017 dem Familienunternehmen an. Auch Wielands Sohn Lorenz wird das Weingut nach seinem Schulabschluss tatkräftig unterstützen.

Damit die Weine auch für die folgenden Generationen erhalten werden können, werden bereits über Jahrzehnte Weine mit gutem Reifepotential in den Ahnenkeller gelegt.

Mittlerweile „wohnen“ um die 150.000 Flaschen Baumgartner-Wein in der Vinothek

30 Meter unter der Erde bei perfekten Lagerbedingungen von konstanten 8°C und 80% Luftfeuchtigkeit. Dieses exzellente Mikroklima sorgt dafür, dass die Weine ihre sortentypischen Fruchtaromen behalten und edle Reifenoten entstehen können.

Wolfgang
Baumgartner
Geb. 1943

Wieland
Baumgartner
Geb. 1968

Baumgartner_Logo_trans_x2

Katharina
Baumgartner
Geb. 1998

Lorenz
Baumgartner
Geb. 2002